Aid to Lifel Aid to Life Aid to Life  
   

独立:穿衣

有关穿衣的常见问题

Clothes

Sandals

 

Question

时间总是不够。

如果我的孩子可以自己穿衣服,那可真是求之不得。但是,实在是太费时间了,我总是要赶时间,所以不得不替她穿好衣服。我忙得不可开交,怎么才能帮她学习独立?

Answer 隐藏

你说得对,让孩子自己穿衣服的确比你给他穿要费时,而且有时根本沒有時間。你有两个选择, 尽早讓孩子自己穿衣或者你自己给她穿。第二个选择意味着你在短期内有个快速的解决办法,但是随着孩子渐渐长大,她想要自己做事的愿望开始出现,穿衣会变成你们之间的冲突,始終会拖慢你自己。如果你无法尽早让孩子自己穿衣服,我们的忠告是,在你时间宽裕时教你的孩子做些简单的步驟。清楚地向她示范一个小步骤,重复几次,然后让她自己试着做。慢慢鼓励她自己做多几个步骤,很快她就想全都自己做。当孩子累了或不想自己做时,你的帮助很要緊。她会慢慢地学习享受穿衣的快乐。提醒一句,对孩子的努力不要过分夸奖,当孩子不想做时也不要失去耐心。时间紧迫时,跟孩子说明你今天可以帮忙她是因为你要赶时间。


Question

我如何保证所有人都采取同样的方法?

我花很多时间告诉我儿子怎样自己穿衣服。他曾经取得不小的进步,对自己可以穿好鞋感到由衷的欢喜。我现在已重新上班,照顾他的人为他做所有事。现在他开始拒绝自己做事。我跟他说穿上鞋咱们出门,他就把脚举到我面前,说:"妈咪穿"。我该怎么办?

Answer 隐藏

这就是为什么大家对年幼孩子采用相同的方式方法至关重要。你绝对不想做那个从不出手相助的“恶人”,但是只要有人凡事都照顾他,你就成了那个“恶人”。也许你可以每星期为你们大家设定一些小任务,比如你可以计划让儿子到星期结束时,学会自己穿袜子、外衣或是套头衫。你们俩一起学用简单的穿衣技巧,有助他学会自己做,并且一起总结一下哪些方法有效,哪些无效。

 

 

Question

我不知道我们是否有进步?

我一直用简单的步骤帮助孩子学习如何自己穿衣。有时她可以做得非常好,自己穿鞋,自己穿外衣,可有时她自己什么都做不到。她是想得到大人的关注,还是这是正常情况?

Answer 隐藏

孩子的成长反反复复时好时坏,有时昨天还自己做的事,今天就做不到了,这是再正常不过的事。有时候,可能因为他们累了,或者他们想要引起他人的关注。即便是我们成人也都有这样的时候。在孩子特别需要的时候给予帮助,是绝对恰当的。可能的话,应该采取这样的方法,只提供她需要的帮助,让她渡过难关,然后让她自己继续。重要的是帮助孩子独立自主不应變成是你倆的战场,而应是积极正面的经历。


Question

我的孩子不选择我想让她穿的衣服。

我的孩子非常喜欢自己选衣服穿。总的来说,起床和早上出门没那么辛苦。有时她想穿的衣服不适合我们要去的场合,比如,去公园她想穿最漂亮的连衣裙;大冷的天,她想穿夏天的薄裙子。我该如何是好呢?我提供给她一些选择,但是有时她会固执己见,另做选择。让她自己做所有的决定似乎不是件好事。

Answer 隐藏

此例证明事先的准备是成功的关键。你要确保衣柜里的衣服都适合,所以无论她选什么你都乐于接受。把聚会时穿的连衣裙收起来,只在适合时才拿出来让她选择。外面飘着雪花时,把薄裙子收起来,然后让她挑选衣服。当然,你仍会觉得她的颜色搭配不如意,但你也只好接受。

   
  Aid to Life Aid to Life Aid to Life

Aid to Lifel Aid to Life Aid to Life  
   

Independence: Dressing

Frequently Asked Questions about Dressing

Clothes

Sandals

 

Question

There is not enough time in the day.

I would love it if my child could start to dress herself but it just takes so much longer when I try this and I end up having to finish dressing her because I usually have a schedule to keep to. How can I incorporate helping her to become independent into the time constraints put on us by my busy schedule?

Answer Hide

You are right: it does take much longer to help your child to dress herself than to do it yourself and sometimes there does not seem to be enough time . You have two options, you can start earlier or do it yourself. The second option means that you will get a quick solution in the short term,  but as your child grows and develops and her desire to do things for herself starts to emerge, dressing can become a source of conflict, which slows you down anyway. The best advice, if you really can't start earlier, is to choose some times and occasions when you do have enough time to show your child how to do something simple. Show her very clearly, perhaps repeating one small step a few times and then let her try one step for herself.  Gradually encourage her to do a few steps by herself. Before you know it she will be attempting to do it all by herself.  If she is very tired she will not want to try and on those occasions it is important to do it for her.  Little by little she will learn and enjoy dressing herself.  
A word of caution, don't overly praise any single action or lose patience when she doesn't want to try.   When time is short, explain to your child that you are going to help today because you need to be somewhere by a certain time.


Question

How do I make sure that everyone takes the same approach?

I have spent a lot of time trying to show my son how to dress himself and for a while he was making good progress and seemed genuinely delighted when he could put his shoes on for himself. Now I am back at work, the person who looks after him does everything for him and now he has started to refuse to do anything for himself.  When I suggest that he put on his shoes because we are going out, he just puts his foot up in my face and says ‘mummy do it’. How should I respond?

Answer Hide

This is why it is so important for everyone to take a consistent approach with young children. You certainly don't want to seem like the terrible person who doesn't do anything for him but as long as someone else in his life is doing everything for him you will always be putting yourself in this position. Perhaps you could choose small tasks for you all to work on each week. For example, you could plan to see if your son could learn how to put on his socks, coat or jumper by the end of the week. Work out together the simple techniques you will both follow that will help him to learn how to do the task and discuss each day what worked and what didn't.

 

 

Question

I am not sure whether we are making progress or not.

I have been following these simple steps to help my child learn how to dress herself and on some days she seems to do very well and can put on her shoes and coat for herself, and then other days she doesn't seem to be able to do anything at all for herself. Is she just attention seeking or is this normal?

Answer Hide

Children develop in fits and spurts and it is quite normal that on some days they don't seem to be able to do things they could do yesterday. Sometimes it might be because they are tired or perhaps they are just feeling in need of some attention. We all have days like this, even as adults, and it is perfectly appropriate for you to give your child some extra help when she seems to need it. If possible, try to take the approach of giving just enough help to get her over the particular challenge she may be having and then let her continue on. It is important that helping your child to become independent remains a positive experience for you both and does not become a battleground.


Question

My child does not make the choices of clothes I would like her to make.

My child really enjoys choosing her own clothes and on the whole it makes getting up and out in the morning less stressful. Sometimes she wants to wear something that is not appropriate for whatever we are going to do. For example, she wants to wear her best dress when we are going to the park or a summer dress when it is freezing outside. What should I do about this? I try to suggest the pieces of clothing that she can choose between, but sometimes she becomes fixated on something else. It doesn't seem right to let her make all of these decisions for herself.

Answer Hide

This is a good example where preparation is the key to success. You have to make sure that what is in the cupboard is appropriate and then no matter what choice she makes you will feel happy with it. Put the party dress away somewhere else and only bring it out when it is an appropriate choice. Put the summer dresses away when there is snow outside and then she can choose what she wants. Of course, you may still find that her colour combinations are not what you would choose but you will have to put up with that!

   
  Aid to Life Aid to Life Aid to Life